The Judiciary - Malta
Mission Statement History The Judiciary The Courts Judgments Code of Ethics The Association Other Information
View of Valletta and bastions overlooking Marxamxett Harbour Il-Gudikatura--Malta - Iustum Iudicium Iudicate
Home : The Judiciary : Magistrates


Like Judges, Magistrates are appointed by the President of Malta acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister. Magistrates sit in the Inferior Courts, and they enjoy the same security of tenure as Judges, with their salary being likewise a charge on the Consolidated Fund and which may not be reduced (see information on Judges).

To be appointed a Magistrate, one must have practised as an advocate in Malta for not less than seven years.  Until very recently a Magistrate had to vacate his office upon reaching the age of sixty years, which was an anomaly since the general retiring age of public officers was sixty-one. This mandatory retiring age has now been raised to sixty-five, thus bringing it in line with that of Judges. Before commencing to exercise his judicial functions, a Magistrate must take before the President of Malta the prescribed oath of allegiance and the oath of office.

In the Island of Gozo, Magistrates perform the functions of Judges in many civil matters. In fact the Court of Magistrates (Gozo) has a twofold jurisdiction: an inferior jurisdiction by virtue of which it takes cognizance of all causes of a civil nature which in Malta would be heard by the Court of Magistrates (Malta), and a superior jurisdiction by virtue of which it takes cognizance, with some exceptions, of causes which in Malta would be heard by the First Hall of the Civil Court and by the Civil Court (Voluntary Jurisdiction Section). One notable exception is in respect of applications or references alleging a violation of fundamental human rights (whether in terms of the Constitution or in terms of the European Convention on Human Rights), which must always be tried in first instance before the First Hall of the Civil Court in Malta. Until some time ago, appeals from judgments of the Court of Magistrates (Gozo) in its superior jurisdiction were heard by a court composed of three Magistrates who would regularly travel to Gozo from Malta to hear these appeals. These appeals are now heard in Gozo by a single Judge.

Twelve of the twenty-three Judges currently in office served as Magistrates before being appointed Judges. These are, in order of seniority, Noel Cuschieri, Abigail Lofaro, Silvio Meli, Anthony Ellul, Jacqueline Padovani Grima, Antonio Mizzi, Edwina Grima, Miriam Hayman, Giovanni Grixti, Consuelo Scerri Herrera, Anthony Vella and Grazio Mercieca. 

Although Magistrates are generally appointed both for the Island of Malta and for the Island of Gozo, in the case of Magistrate Dr Paul Coppini his appointment is limited to the Island of Gozo.

According to Article 7(2) of the Code of Organization and Civil Procedure, the Chief Justice may designate one of the Magistrates as Senior Magistrate. The person so designated, who does not have to be the person who is most senior in terms of appointment to the Bench of Magistrates, is to perform such duties and functions as may be assigned to him by the Chief Justice or as may be provided by any law for the time being in force. Five Magistrates have to date been so designated since the office was created in 2007: Michael Mallia (now retired), Silvio Meli, Jacqueline Padovani Grima, Antonio Mizzi and Anthony Vella (all five moved on in due course to the Superior Courts as Judges). The current Senior Magistrate is Dr Audrey Demicoli.

The current Bench of Magistrates is made up as follows:

*Magistrate Dr Paul Coppini

*Magistrate Dr Audrey Demicoli (Senior Magistrate)
*Magistrate Dr Doreen Clarke
*Magistrate Dr Gabriella Vella
*Magistrate Dr Claire Stafrace Zammit
*Magistrate Dr Marse-Ann Farrugia
*Magistrate Dr Josette Demicoli
*Magistrate Dr Neville Camilleri
*Magistrate Dr Ian Farrugia
*Magistrate Dr Natasha Galea Sciberras
*Magistrate Dr Charmaine Galea

*Magistrate Dr Joseph Mifsud
*Magistrate Dr Monica Vella
*Magistrate Dr Donatella Frendo Dimech

*Magistrate Dr Caroline Farrugia Frendo
*Magistrate Dr Yana Micallef Stafrace
*Magistrate Dr Rachel Montebello
Magistrate Dr Simone Grech
Magistrate Dr Astrid May Grima
*Magistrate Dr Nadine Lia
*Magistrate Dr Victor Asciak
*Magistrate Dr Bridgitte Sultana



(Click on the names highlighted in bold to view curriculum vitae)


To view these documents you need Adobe Acrobat Reader®
(if you don't have it please click here to download and install)

Get Acrobat Reader

Background with Shadow

Court of Valletta 

The Chief Justice
design spacer
design spacer
Speeches by the Chief Justice
design spacer
design spacer
design spacer
design spacer
design spacer
design spacer
Judical Studies Committee
design spacer
design spacer
Retired Judges and Magistrates
design spacer
design spacer
Judiciary Teams
design spacer
design spacer
Rule making boards
design spacer
design spacer
© 2019 The Judiciary Portal. Developed by Alert Communications